The two contenders for the mayoralty position in Muntinlupa went toe-to-toe last week in a debate on Umagang Kay Ganda.

Watch the video here and see who you think is most deserving in leading Muntinlupa into the promise land:


Umagang Harapan: San Pedro vs. Fresnedi

Former Muntinlupa mayor Jaime Fresnedi has withdrawn the election protest he filed against incumbent Mayor Aldrin San Pedro in connection with the May 11, 2010 elections.

In a manifestation filed with the First Division of the Commission on Elections (Comelec), Fresnedi, through his counsel Atty. George Erwin Garcia, said he is withdrawing the election protest due to “financial constraints”.

“The undersigned (Garcia) has been instructed by the protestant (Fresnedi) to withdraw the instant election protest case due to financial constraints,” according to the manifestation signed by Garcia and Fresnedi.

In addition, Fresnedi asked the Comelec First Division to release his cash deposit totaling P1.08 million (P1,081,000) which he paid the Comelec in June and October last year to cover the recount.

San Pedro defeated Fresnedi in the May 2010 elections to win his second term. San Pedro garnered 108,091 votes against Fresnedi’s 76,808 votes.

Before filing to withdraw his election protest, Fresnedi asked the Comelec to defer the revision of ballots in his case which was supposed to start last May 9.

The revision of ballots was supposed to cover 66 election precincts in Muntinlupa or 20 percent of the protest proper.

In an order dated May 5, Presiding Commissioner Rene Sarmiento of the Comelec First Division junked Fresnedi’s request, ruling that “we do not find his reason for the deferment of the recount proceedings reasonable.”

Mayor San Pedro likewise opposed the deferment of the revision of ballots.

In his comment and opposition filed with the Comelec, Mayor San Pedro said the request to defer the recount “is nothing short of dilatory with no other purpose except to cause delay to the final resolution of the protest”.

By Tetch Torres

First Posted 17:06:00 04/25/2011

MANILA, Philippines—The Presidential Electoral Tribunal (PET) allowed the Commission on Elections to (Comelec) to copy the compact flash (CF) cards used in the May 10, 2010 national and local elections for purposes of producing ballot images in case a recount is necessary in election protest.

In a two-page resolution, the high court sitting as PET granted the request of Comelec Commissioner Rene Sarmiento, the one who asked the authority to copy the CF cards.

Sarmiento made the request because the CF cards are now in the authority of PET in view of the election protest filed by defeated Vice-Presidential bet Mar Roxas against Vice-President Jejomar Binay. ”

The tribunal resolve to authorize the First Division Comelec to copy the CF cards used in the May 10, 2010 National and Local Elections in 5 election protest cases for purposes of producing the ballot images if need be,” the high court said.

Aside from Roxas’ election protest, these pending election protests include Antonio Gatuslao vs. Agustin Bascon (Himamaylan City, Negros Occidental; Pancrasio Nisce vs. Hermenigildo Gualberto (San Fernando City, La Union; Jaime Fresnedi vs. Aldrin San Pedro (Muntinlupa City); Marissa Rongavilla vs. Artemio Simundac (Vice Mayoral, Muntinlupa City) and Ferdinand Dysico vs. Jose Felimon (San Jose City, Nueva Ecija).

But the PET reminded the Comelec to indicate in its request the areas involved in the poll protest as well as the Election Protest Case Numbers and Case titles.

The resolution was concurred in by Chief justice Renato Corona and Associate Justices Conchita Carpio-Morales, Presbitero Velasco, Jr., Antonio Eduardo Nachura, Teresita Leonardo-De Castro, Lucas Bersamin, Roberto Abad, Martin Villarama, Jr., Jose Portugal Perez, Jose Catral Mendoza and Ma. Lourdes Sereno.

Partial Unofficial Tally as of 2010-05-10 23:50:33 – 58.31% of ERs


1 BIAZON, Rodolfo G. 66656
2 BULAY, Rey E. 8302
3 BURGOS, Rafael I. 1695
4 ESPELETA, Ermie S. 28891
5 PUNO, Ricardo Jr V. 39256
6 SORILLA, Herminio D. 145
7 VILORIA, Rodolfo V. 779

1 FRESNEDI, Jaime D. 63061
2 MARMETO, Oscar A. 480
3 SAN PEDRO, Aldrin L. 87875

1 RONGAVILLA, Marissa C. 65207
2 SIMUNDAC, Artemio A. 77386

1 ABANES, Gregorio Jr. C. 2114
2 ABANTO, Rommel L. 21284
3 AMPAYA, Allen F. 42633
4 ARCIAGA, Espino R. 16963
5 ARCIAGA, Louisito A. 24827
6 ARGANA, Carlo T. 23201
7 BARLIS, Dan Hubert A. 35814
8 BONCAYAO, Patricio Jr. L. 48219
9 CALALANG, Marita D. 33414
10 CALDERON, Romarico C. 2046
11 CAMILON, Abegail A. 30877
12 CARO, Epifanio Jr. C. 1902
13 CORRO, Raul R. 52400
14 DELA REA, Ma. Victoria P. 29541
15 DIAZ, Alexander B. 41883
16 DOLLETON, Gabriel B. 22171
17 HERNANDEZ, Gerrovi L. 22197
18 LABIOS, Margarita Amythyst P. 45710
19 LORICA, Roderick V. 21400
20 NIEFES, Baldomero D. 44591
21 OLIVA, Antonio P. 978
22 PONCE, Zosimo V. 2690
23 SOLOMON, Ronald S. 23575
24 TEVES, Ringo A. 37199
25 TROZADO, Benjiebel A. 13382
26 TROZADO, Edgardo A. 21060

1 ABAS, Robert A. 25315
2 AREVALO, Joselito V. 25073
3 BAES, Roberto P. 23386
4 BALBANERO, Christopher A. 1396
5 CARLOS, Santiago Jr. V. 6258
6 CONSTANTINO, Luvi P. 29995
7 DELOS REYES, Alejandro R. 1702
8 ESCOBEDO, Bernardo E. 11316
9 ESPELETA, Elmer S. 23667
10 FRIAS, Willie G. 921
11 GONZAGA, Grace B. 20590
12 JOAQUIN, Rufino B. 17428
13 MIRANDA, Allan M. 13254
14 MOLDEZ, Rodolfo W. 15147
15 NAVARRO, Ma. Consuelo F. 12529
16 NOFUENTE, Ariel V. 11939
17 NOLASCO, Danidon M. 14236
18 PASCUAL, Delia F. 8254
19 PAUSAL, Nelson P. 924
20 RIVERA, Edwin A. 1658
21 SALUD, Joselito A. 784
22 SANTIAGO, Neptali S. 24791
23 SEVILLA, Rafael T. 24011
24 SO, Geraldine B. 16040
25 SUNPAYCO, Nicholo L. 485
26 TABULOG, Alberto C. 398
27 ULANDAY, Vergel C. 22445

Please click on this link for updated results.

Thank you to banderablogs for forwarding this to us. Muntinlupenos, please feel free to read and analyze who can better help your city.

San Pedro-Fresnedi Tapatan

Please refrain from making unnecessary comments as well as those with accusations and expletives. Comments containing those above shall not be published. Let us all be educated residents. Thanks. — Editor

Next Page →